Roger Federer wins ATP’s Sportsmanship Award in partial season

Roger Federer wins ATP’s Sportsmanship Award in partial season

Roger Federer wins ATP's Sportsmanship Award in partial season 2016 images

Roger Federer, in a recent Twitter tweet, acknowledged that he has been “out of sight” lately. The comment is no doubt a reference to his ongoing knee rehabilitation, recovery efforts that have kept him out of competitive matches for a few months now. In the same November 10th tweet Federer stated that it was “nice to know” that he was “not out of mind,” a reference to the fact that the Swiss Maestro won the ATP’s Stefan Edberg Award, one that is awarded annually for sportsmanship on the ATP Tour.

Federer, who was actually coached by Stefan Edberg for a long time, is not even close to being a stranger to the award. The Swiss Maestro has won it every year but one since 2004. Rafael Nadal is the only other active player to have won the award, the Spaniard having won it in 2010. Otherwise, the most-recent non-Federer recipients of the award are long-retired players Paradorn Srichaphan and Patrick Rafter.

But if there was ever a year where Federer would not win the award 2016 seemed like a candidate. That doesn’t mean that his class act has changed, but he only played in 28 matches this “out of sight” season, a very low total for him. In awarding the award to Federer the players that voted for him made it clear that being a good sport is something that does not have to be demonstrated over the entire ATP campaign.

In looking back at the last 20 years there is no precedent for winning the sportsmanship award with so few matches played. For instance, when Federer has won it he has often played in 60+ matches. Rafter won the award in 2001 despite playing only 53 matches, a total that still nearly doubles the number that Federer played in for 2016. The player voters might be a little guilty here of letting Federer’s reputation precede their voting. I don’t think he deserved the award just based on his limited match total in 2016.

But the awards ceremony is history now, and Federer has what is his 12th sportsmanship award. Other players recognized for other awards actually had to labor the full season. Juan Martin del Potro won the Comeback Player of the Year Award following a season that included a title in Stockholm and a silver medal in Rio. Lucas Pouille received the Most Improved Player of the Year Award in no small part due to deep runs at both Wimbledon and Flushing Meadows. Marin Cilic won the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award for actions off the court.

The last award to be issued is one that couldn’t be handed out this week. The player of the year is not a nominated or voted on award. Rather the award is entirely rankings based, and it’s still up for grabs. Andy Murray, the current World No. 1, is likely to win the award. However, he still has some work to do in London next week in a race that is between him and Novak Djokovic.


Shane is a sports writer with a big interest in tennis, but he's also a noted writer about travel and fiction. Plus he can handle long walks in the cold Canadian tundra!

More in Sports

2017 NFL Draft Top 5 picks pull in major reactions images

2017 NFL Draft: Top 5 picks pull in major reactions

Chris MauriceApril 28, 2017
eric weddle ravens strongest team in history now

Eric Weddle makes some big Ravens claims

Chris MauriceApril 27, 2017
patriots winning draft ways nfl

Patriots prove to have winning NFL draft formula

Luka AlarioApril 27, 2017
adrian peterson lining up with mark ingram for new orleans saints 2017

Adrian Peterson joins forces with Mark Ingram for Saints

Chris MauriceApril 27, 2017
tj ward pushing for another broncos super bowl win

T.J. Ward still hopeful for Broncos Super Bowl win

Chris MauriceApril 26, 2017
adam siler knicks fan fighter

James Dolan on his own with New York Knicks fan fight

Chris MauriceApril 26, 2017
Maria Sharapova Was Suspended in a Man's World 2017 images

Maria Sharapova Was Suspended in a Man’s World

Shane LambertApril 25, 2017
jabrill peppers sees draft stock drop after positive drug test 2017 images

Jabrill Peppers sees draft stock drop after positive drug test

Chris MauriceApril 25, 2017
aaron hernandez saga ends with funeral 2017 images

Aaron Hernandez saga ends with funeral

Luka AlarioApril 24, 2017

Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter

You will only receive one per day. You'll also get a free THE WALKING DEAD graphic novel with your subscription