Kaka still highest paid player in Major League Soccer with $7 million

Kaka still highest paid player in Major League Soccer with $7 million

kaka still highest paid player in major league soccer with $7 million 2016 images

Former AC Milan and Real Madrid star, Kaka, is still reigning high as Major League Soccer’s highest-paid player at just over $7 million. American goalkeeper Tim Howard will earn slightly more than $2.5 million in his return to the league.

Kaka, the former AC Milan and Real Madrid star, is earning a base salary of $6.6 million from Orlando City, according to figures released Thursday by the MLS Players Union. Including a prorated share of compensation not specified to a specific year, his total earnings remain a league-record $7,167,500.

Toronto’s Sebastian Giovinco, the league’s 2015 MVP, has a $5.6 million base and total compensation of $7,115,556. U.S. national team captain Michael Bradley, in his third season with Toronto, has a $6 million base and $6.5 million total earnings.

Howard, the U.S. starting goalkeeper at the past two World Cups, is joining Colorado next month after a decade at Everton. He has a $2.1 million base and $2,575,000 in total compensation.

Steven Gerrard, the former Liverpool and England captain now with the Los Angeles Galaxy, has a $6 million base salary and $6,132,500 in total earnings.

Former Chelsea and Manchester City midfielder Frank Lampard, who has yet to play a match for New York City this season, has a $6 million salary. He is followed by teammates Andrea Pirlo ($5.6 million, $5,915,690) and David Villa ($5.61 million).

kaka keeping coins high

Twenty-three players have total earnings of $1 million or more, an increase of two from last year’s initial salary list.

Toronto’s Jozy Altidore was at $4,825,000, followed by Seattle’s Clint Dempsey ($4,605,942), Los Angeles’ Giovani Dos Santos ($4.25 million) and Robbie Keane ($3.5 million), Montreal’s Didier Drogba ($2,166,667), Colorado’s Shkelzen Gashi ($1,668,750), Salt Lake’s Juan Manuel Martinez ($1,458,667), Seattle’s Nelson Valdez ($1,455,000), San Jose’s Innocent Emeghara ($1.3 million), Vancouver’s Pedro Morales ($1,258,900), Portland’s Liam Ridgewell ($1.25 million), Columbus’ Federico Higuain ($1,175,000), Chicago’s Gilberto ($1,145,000), Colorado’s Kevin Doyle ($1.12 million) and New England’s Kei Kamara ($1 million).


Jackie Warner is the go to person for all types of reviews at Movie TV Tech Geeks News. She's also the lucky one to get to test all of our Cool Stuff Tech and Toys for review.

More in Soccer

borussia dortmund team work to overcome bomb attack 2017 images

Borussia Dortmund team work to overcome bomb attack

Luka AlarioApril 13, 2017
manchester citys proves pep guardiola a winning combination 2016 images

Manchester City proves Pep Guardiola a winning combination

Luka AlarioSeptember 30, 2016
pressures on brazils soccer team at rio olympics 2016 images

Pressure’s on Brazil’s soccer team at Rio Olympics

Jackie WarnerAugust 5, 2016
fans hoping lionel messi will reconsider leaving argentina 2016 images

Fans hoping Lionel Messi will reconsider leaving Argentina

Luka AlarioJune 28, 2016
Goal machine lionel Messi leads Argentina to Copa final 2016 images

Goal Machine Lionel Messi breaks record, leading Argentina to Copa Final

Jackie WarnerJune 22, 2016
Zlatan Ibrahimovic retiring after european championship 2016 images

Zlatan Ibrahimovic retiring after European Championship

Jackie WarnerJune 22, 2016
french police use tear gas on english soccer fans at european championship 2016 images

French police use tear gas on English soccer fans at European Championship

Jackie WarnerJune 15, 2016
ESPN's Athlete Fame list highlights faceless NFL and neymar who 2016 images

ESPN’s Athlete Fame list highlights faceless NFL and Neymar who?

Shane MclendonJune 4, 2016
lionel messi ready for day in court 2016 images

Lionel Messi ready for day in court

Jackie WarnerMay 31, 2016

Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter

You will only receive one per day. You'll also get a free THE WALKING DEAD graphic novel with your subscription